#1115 Xeto - explicit vs implicit specs?

James Gessel Wed 1 May

Are specs intended to be explicit or implicit?

This is first a question, and then depending on the answer may turn into a proposal. I'd like to understand the current intentions first.

I'm just beginning to work with xeto, so I appreciate your patience if these are dumb questions :D

Explicit Workflow

My idea of an explicit workflow is the following:

-Define specs in a lib
-Build equips/points
-Assign each equip/point a specific and permanent spec 
-Equips/points auto-inherit spec attributes (TAGS AND POINTS)

The user essentially says this equip should match this spec. This approach has numerous advantages:

• specs are more easily assignable and digestible than tag combinations
  • you can validate against the given spec, even if tags are changed or ommitted on the equip/point
  • you can auto-inherit any changes made to the spec

This is great. However, I have a major concern with this approach. It requires explicit specs for every single unique combination of AHU extensions. Even if there are only 10 extensions, that evaluates to over 1,000 unique specs to handle each combination. If those have to be pre-defined in a lib to be usable, its a non starter.

Implicit Workflow

By contrast, an implicit workflow looks like:

-Define specs 
-Build equips/points
-Equips/points auto-inherit attributes (EXCEPT tags, since they are manually defined)

Now instead of telling, the user is asking what specs does this equip fit? so they can validate other (non-tag) attributes. Simply adding a tag will auto-inherit new specs and attributes. No need for 1,000 unique specs.

This way, you can

• still validate (at least using the newly fitted specs)
  • quickly add components to equips and validate newly required additions
  • avoid having to create every single unique combination of specs in a predefined lib

Ideally